a secret marinade for chicken breasts

dscf3542Don’t tell anyone, shhhhh.  It’s so easy it hurts, and the flavor is unbelievable.

One large yellow onion, pulverized in a food processor.  It must be pulverized, not chopped.  A handful of herbs, like mint or parsley or oregano, if you like.  Lemon is another option.  Put chicken and onion in ziploc bag and massage.  Let sit in the refrigerator overnight.

That’s it.  And it makes for juicy, tender, wonderful chicken breasts.  This method is widely used for Persian kebabs.  I find it more delicious with chicken than beef.

I usually remove the chicken from the marinade, salt and pepper it, then grill.  The onion marinade shouldn’t be used in any raw preparation, but I will sometimes add it to the rice cooking water for a nice oniony kick.

Could you use this marinade with grilled tofu?  I don’t see why not.  The marinade times would be shortened, I think.  If someone tries this, I’d love to hear about the results.

6 thoughts on “a secret marinade for chicken breasts

  1. Jo 15 March 2009 / 7:37 am

    I like this idea! have to try it! :) thanks!

    Like

  2. Chelsea 20 March 2009 / 8:02 am

    We had these last night – I added lemon zest and juice to the onion, and the leaves from one spring of rosemary. Delish, thanks!

    Like

  3. ashley 11 May 2009 / 5:24 pm

    Persian kabobs are delecious. Persian food is wonderful. The marinade was really good and savory.

    Like

  4. dodo 11 May 2009 / 5:26 pm

    3 WORDS FOR YOU DAWG.CHICKEN IS BESTEST FOOD IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD.

    Like

  5. Susan 19 June 2019 / 6:21 am

    Tried this last night; was amazing. Best flavor and very tender will definitely use again. I added soy sauce in the marinade for 2 hours before I cooked , delish

    Like

Leave a comment