chipotles

With the last of my hot chiles a few weeks ago, I experimented with the smoker.  Some of the big fat green jalapenos got smoked for about two hours over a blend of fruit and other woods before putting them in a salty brine to ferment and become smoky hot sauce.  The red jalapenos became light, sweetly smoked chipotles, dried peppers that are usually left whole and smoked until a brittle dark crisp.  I liked the idea of dialing back the smoke so I could use them for a variety of purposes, so I slit them and laid them flat, and only smoked them for a 4-5 hours until they dried.  They’re so pretty; they remind me of the last warm days of our Indian summer, that beautiful bright sad light.

Stay dry and be careful out there!

Leave a Reply

