culinaria eugenius in spokane: a way a lone a last a loved a long the riverrun

The Spokane River is no Liffey.  Maybe ALP on steroids, flush with power.  I’m entranced.  The rains make the current even stronger, and the banks are teeming with life.

Funny little river prairie dogs or svelte woodchucks or evolutionary chipmunks (fill me in, peeps!), for example.

And ducks to be.

And trestles grow cats by spontaneous generation.

And me?  Me, I’m in a purple pod, high in the sky, overlooking it all.

Hydroelectricity makes me high on life.  This sky ride is one of the many delights of the former Spokane Natatorium park.  The 1909 vintage, restored carousel and amusement park games are another.

I’m only here for 24 hours, so I made sure to eat two of my can’t-get-in-Eugene favorites: Ethiopian and Sichuan food.  I wasn’t remotely hungry for dinner after this vegetarian sampler lunch at Queen of Sheba, right on the bank of the river, but went anyway, thinking I could have leftovers for lunch today. For a Master Food Preserver never travels without her cooler!

Was absolutely delighted by the “mostly vegan” cold appetizer tray at Gordy’s Sichuan.  For $3 apiece, small plates are presented together like dim sum, and the diner can choose among five or six offerings.  I opted for edamame and wheat gluten in ma-la oil, and a mixed spicy pickle with bamboo slices, mustard greens, and carrots.  The dumplings marinating in a rusty red chili bath were good, too.  A bit too large and potstickery than they had to be, but still yummy.  Forgot my camera, but check out the menu here.

OK, I’m off again!  See you in Missoula, via my favorite mountain small town, Wallace, Idaho.

 

6 thoughts on “culinaria eugenius in spokane: a way a lone a last a loved a long the riverrun

  1. Warren Holmes 10 June 2011 / 11:16 am

    Those “riverside rodents” you photographed along the Spokane River are almost certainly yellow-bellied marmots (Marmota flaveventris) and my guess is that the one on the rock is a weaned infant which was born 10-12 weeks ago. Yellow-bellied marmots are one of six N American species of marmots, which are closely-related to prairie dogs and ground squirrels. I just *knew* that this was critical info to share w/ you and your readers. :-)

    Like

  2. Jaculynn Peterson 10 June 2011 / 8:42 pm

    Thanks Warren. That was critical info to share – as I was just debating with my husband. :) #RiversideRodents

    Like

  3. Eugenia 10 June 2011 / 8:49 pm

    Thanks, Warren! And also to Eugene Bicyclist (Shane?).

    Like

  4. Eugene Bicyclist 11 June 2011 / 5:43 pm

    Nope, not Shane. You’re thinking of McRhodes? Just a fellow Eugene blogger.

    Like

Leave a Reply

