blackberry gobbler

It’s blackberry cobbler, really, but I’m gobbling it up so fast I wonder if we should change the name.  I’ve transitioned into making room for the 2010 preservaganza by eating up all the fruits of my canning labors in 2009.

Here’s what is left over (p = pint, q = quart; the rest are half-pints):

  • 2 p tomatillo salsa
  • 2 p green tomato pickles
  • 1 p garden chile salsa
  • 5 p dill relish (no dill relish this year!)
  • 1 q vinegar pickles
  • 1 p satsuma kumquat marmalade
  • 2 strawberry black pepper basil confiture
  • 1 elephant heart plum jam
  • 1 cabernet jelly (bought from another MFP)
  • 1 lemon curd (ditto)
  • a dozen various fruit and herb vinegars (I use these for teaching flavored vinegar classes, so I don’t mind)
  • 1 p oil-marinated sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 q Old Bachelor (mixed berries and cherries) liqueur
  • 2 p applesauce
  • 6 ketchup (no ketchup this year!)
  • 6 tuna (mostly hickory-smoked)

I love this time of year because everything seems luxurious when you use up the end of last year’s season.   The cobbler, for example, was downright over the top with two pints of homemade blackberry pie filling juiced up with a few cubes of frozen fresh boysenberry-cassis-rose geranium coulis.

I also have enough frozen berries (thanks to Lara! hi Lara!) to make another few batches of jam to get me through to July.

My cobbler recipe, a not-very-sweet, biscuity version, is slightly adapted from Ree Drummond’s blackberry cobbler #2.  (Recipe can be found in a more readable form at the end of the post if you want to avoid the images.)  She prefers the moister, sweeter, cakey version, but I’m a big fan of biscuit topping, since there’s so much more control over the sweetness factor.  I also don’t serve it with ice cream, the sacrilege!  But you might want to, if you need the sweetness.  Either way, if you have 6 cups of frozen berries (or a quart of home-canned pie filling, which will make it a bit more viscous), it’s a great recipe for a bit of summer in early spring.

Next up, the freezer.

4 thoughts on “blackberry gobbler

  1. Kate 11 May 2010 / 3:17 pm

    I am so impressed. I want to be your best friend for the summer, so I can learn all of your secrets.

    Like

  2. Lexa 11 May 2010 / 5:46 pm

    Just noticed 2 1-gallon bags of frozen blackberries lurking in the freezer. It is time to use up those babies. July is not that far away!

    Like

  3. Dave 11 May 2010 / 6:09 pm

    It’s not that we “need” the sweetness of ice cream on top of a blackberry cobbler, it’s that the combination of warm berry and cold, melting vanilla ice cream is one of the best food combos known to man.

    Like

  4. Christine 12 May 2010 / 8:15 am

    Thanks for sharing this recipe. This is interesting. I like the idea of not-very-sweet black berry gobbler. I also found a recipe similar to this at Foodista (www.foodista.com) check it out sometime.

    Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

