saturday farmer’s market opens, foodies go wild!

Welcome back farmers, we love you!  I was the only tourist with a camera I saw walking around, but no one seemed to mind.  A wild spring day, smiling washed-out winter faces.  We’re all Vitamin D deprived and hungry for green.  The colors were almost unbearably bright, almost toy-like, in the bright spring vegetables pyramidded up under the new white awnings.

Rocking a locally-made Archival Clothing tote bag, I sent a strong message that no vegetable was a match for me. I snapped up a bag of new carrots, some purple flowering kale, and young green and red mustard green fronds from Lost Creek Farm (the farm that suffered the freak hailstorm in June last year — they must have been pretty anxious this week), Russian fingerling potatoes, a big bag of salad mix, dried Fellenberg (Italian) prunes from Raynblest, beer sausages and some maitake mushrooms to make my Easter soup.

Corey, the owner of Field to Table and The Nosh Pit (the innovative world street food cart on 8th and Olive that features a different cuisine each week), was serving up Jamaican-inspired chicken hash with egg and nettle pesto.  Even though I was mesmerized by the dark yellow farm-fresh egg yolk, I snapped a shot of Corey (r) and his cook in front of their sign.  Lookin’ good, guys!

I was also really happy to see my fellow OSU Extension Master Gardener volunteers at a booth, as well.  I had worked with Tim (l) on the hotline before, and we talked about the upcoming bond measure to Save Extension campaign for a few minutes.  It softened them up enough to allow me to take a picture.  Take one for the team, I said, and obligingly, they did.

Must have been the dazzle of my weird, lip-less smile.  (Hey, if I embarrassed them, I might as well embarrass myself.)

Some of the other delicious offerings included roasted vegetables and garlic from Canby Asparagus Farm, all manner of greens from Lost Creek Farm…

‘Easter Egg’ radishes and Russian kale from Hay Bales, Russian fingerling potatoes and leeks from Groundworks Organics (I think)…

and snow pea starts from the pepper lady.


I was so glad to see all of you, human and vegetable alike!

5 thoughts on “saturday farmer’s market opens, foodies go wild!

  1. Michael 3 April 2010 / 6:34 pm

    thanks for including your skinny lipped self – as a fan, we don’t see enough of YOU

    Like

  2. Amy I. 3 April 2010 / 7:07 pm

    Ahhh YAY! I didn’t make it out this week, but it was good to see some familiar sights in your photos. Will be there with goofy smile and camera next Saturday.

    Like

  3. Akemi - Real Life Spirituality 3 April 2010 / 10:41 pm

    I went to the farmers market this morning, too! I am so glad the Eugene market comes back so early in spring.

    Happy Easter,

    Like

  4. Eugenia 4 April 2010 / 8:49 am

    Michael: images of local food are way more interesting to me! ;)

    Like

  5. TheBon 4 April 2010 / 9:44 am

    I dragged my husband out of the house at 9:30 to get there before it was overcrowded. I took my camera but didn’t take any photos. I came home with mushrooms and pork chops and some of those leeks and fingerling potatoes, and rhubarb.

    Like

Leave a Reply

