dark days challenge #9: frozen mush of summer pasta

Another rough week over here at Culinaria Eugenius.  And since Retrogrouch was away for most of the week, I didn’t really feel like cooking.  One more crazybusy week, then things will be a little better and I’ll be in the kitchen again.  So it was frozen food again for the weekly local dark days challenge.

One of the best, and easiest, recipes for using leftover cherry tomatoes in season is slow roasting them on a low temperature in olive oil, whole cloves of garlic, and fat slices of red onion.  We might even call it Mush Confit.  The stuff cooks down, but generally maintains its tomato-onion-garlic shape, and when frozen in quart-sized Ziploc bags, it can be used throughout the winter for pasta, meat sauces, and even as a spread on baguettes for a quick lunch.

My local meal for the week, therefore, was a chunk of slow-roasted summer vegetables tossed in fresh linguine made here in Eugene, and a bit of olive oil.  I added a scoop of frozen, homemade ajvar (red pepper spread) for a little pizzazz.  Some cream would have been nice, too, or sliced sausage, or some pine nuts and parsley (if I weren’t going local).  But even as is, it was quite good.  Can I tell you how happy I am that froze all the food I did?  I still have frozen fruits, tomato sauce, and a bunch of dried fruits and vegetables stored in the freezer.  Next year, my pledge is for more.

5 thoughts on “dark days challenge #9: frozen mush of summer pasta

  1. Liz 19 January 2010 / 9:18 am

    Do you have a normal sized freezer or a chest freezer?

    Like

  2. Eugenia 19 January 2010 / 10:06 am

    I’m limping along with my small freezer on top of my ‘fridge, Liz. It doesn’t even work especially well, so I’m constantly struggling with freezer burn on meats, not to mention the pints of chicken stock that randomly fire out at me when I open it. :) A chest freezer has been on the to-do list for a while.

    Like

  3. Liz 21 January 2010 / 9:22 pm

    yup.. I think the chest freezer will happen when we move to a house with a garage. How do your prioritize what to put in such a small space? And how do you organize it all?

    Like

Leave a Reply

