new farmers market on campus

Thursday marks the second of four weeks that local farms will be hawking their fall produce on the University of Oregon campus.  More information by clicking here. Check it out and make it worth their while! They’ll only be around until Thanksgiving.

I am amazed and proud that U of O is making efforts to bring farms to the university.  Grab-n-Go, a convenience store set up in the dorms, is also purchasing produce directly from local growers.  Students can use their dining points to buy in-season apples and such.  I’ll bet that every single one of us who once had to live on dorm food is jealous.

3 thoughts on “new farmers market on campus

  1. kimmy 4 November 2009 / 4:53 pm

    I work on campus. Thank you for posting this! I will head down there tomorrow!

    Like

  2. David 5 November 2009 / 11:14 am

    This is unrelated to your recent post, but I wanted to let people know that if they are unhappy about having their subscriptions transferred to Bon Appetit after the closing of Gourmet they can call 1-800-365-2454 for a refund. That is, as long as they ordered directly from Gourmet.
    I loved Gourmet, and I am not a big fan of Bon Appetit. I feel like I shouldn’t reward Conde Nast by allowing them to convert Gourmet subscribers into Bon Appetit subscribers against their will. Gourmet was a beloved institution that does not deserve to be shuttered; especially while its’ readership was at or near peak levels. I’m not trying to knock Bon Appetit, but I would rather find a magazine from another publisher that isn’t so focused on the bottom line that they would let such a great magazine die. And with only a whimper, no less.

    Like

  3. Eugenia 5 November 2009 / 3:34 pm

    Hi David,

    Nice of you to comment — I’ll move this to its own post when I have a chance, since I’m wondering which cooking magazines people are reading. I’ll leave it here until then!

    Like

Leave a Reply

