apple cider donuts

IMG_0822

IMG_0829

Post Secret:  I still pine for Michigan in the fall.

No, these cider donuts are not even vaguely comparable to the freshly fried cider donuts at the Franklin Cider Mill in Franklin, Michigan, one of the most glorious places of my childhood (and dare I say all NW suburban Detroit childhoods for over a century?).  Those cinnamon donuts, slicked with grease and perfuming the air all the way up to heaven, are a national treasure. But these Oregon ones are pretty good, and they are better than anything similar I’ve tasted anywhere.  I give you two views of my Saturday purchase:  one regular snapshot, and one via donut cam.

The cider is, well, still early.  The light color means they’re using early-season apples, which aren’t nearly as sweet and tart and wonderful as the mid-season ones.  The Franklin Cider Mill uses Honey Crisp apples.  In Oregon, we use whatever we have.  There is no real cider mill tradition here at all, but cider presses seem to pop up here and there in the fall, and if you’re lucky, you’ll find yourself next to one at a festival or fair.  I make trips up to Corvallis or out to Thistledown Farm in Junction City to buy apple cider that has been UV-treated instead of pasteurized (which kills the fresh, wild taste of apple cider in season).  Beggars can’t be choosers.  But they can shop wisely.

9 thoughts on “apple cider donuts

  1. Tara 4 October 2009 / 10:21 am

    Did you make them?

    Like

  2. EugeneModernMonkey 4 October 2009 / 11:23 am

    Hi Jennifer,
    Great blog! I’m really glad I didn’t know about it before you guys came over for dinner. I would have been way intimidated.

    In more relevant news . . . we have friends (in our neighborhood) that were to have a cider press rented for today but the rental place messed up and double booked and therefore no cider press. Argh. I’ll keep you posted if they manage to get it again.
    Erin

    Like

  3. Eugenia 4 October 2009 / 3:19 pm

    Thanks, Erin! And there’s no reason to be intimidated, believe me.

    Tara: nope. Bought them at Thistledown with the cider.

    Like

  4. Amy 5 October 2009 / 6:51 pm

    I LIVE for Thistledown’s Apple Cider Donuts!

    Like

  5. Jennifer cook-chrysos 30 September 2010 / 5:15 am

    I am also from Michigan and grew up with the Franklin cider mill! I live in Portland now and was hoping to find something fallish for the weekend…but I guess I won’t really find what I was looking for. Nice to share a memory though.

    Jen

    Like

  6. Sarah 30 October 2010 / 7:54 am

    Your blog popped up when I ws searching for cider mills in Oregon. It’s our first fall here, we moved from Michigan and it feels the season feels very incomplete without cider and donuts :( We miss Michigan falls too.

    Like

  7. Eugenia 30 October 2010 / 7:59 am

    Welcome to Oregon, Sarah!

    Like

  8. Patricia Grace 3 May 2015 / 9:16 am

    I take a group of retired people from YA PO AH Terrace Apartments to Thistledown farms for cider donuts. We are goingvto experiment with recipes and use what we make for a fund raiser.

    Like

  9. Eugenia 3 May 2015 / 9:33 am

    Wonderful, Patricia Grace! Keep me posted, please.

    Like

Leave a Reply

