the pied piper of cats

IMG_0434

Eugene town’s in Lane Co.

By rosy Stumptown City;

Willamette River, short and wide

Licks its banks on either side…

Albacore tuna canning.  Sustainably caught off the Oregon coast.  This year I did a few jars of hickory-smoked, but the rest is lightly salted, fat, white, pure tuna, worth its weight in gold.  The tuna is sterilized by a 100-minute bath in the pressure canner, but boy, does it remind you of its presence.  As I walk down the street, the cats follow.

IMG_0474

3 thoughts on “the pied piper of cats

  1. Amy 15 August 2009 / 9:56 pm

    Sounds really good. I am nervous to can tuna in the house – it sounds like there is reason for my nervousness!

    Like

  2. Eugenia 16 August 2009 / 4:12 am

    Doing it in the house is a bad idea — I did it with a MFP group on someone (else)’s patio! My hands still smell like tuna. I can’t imagine what my kitchen would smell like.

    Like

  3. V. Lamb 17 August 2009 / 6:57 pm

    I canned tuna with the MFP group the day before you did. I know what you mean about the smell. I couldn’t get it off my hands! One of my jars didn’t seal, so we ate it the next day. Delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

