talking local

IMG_0016

I’m preparing my presentation for the upcoming annual Gardeners Mini-College on local food and locavore eating.  It’s rather luxurious to be doing this at the peak of vegetable season, where all one has to do is lazily reach an arm out your window and grab a handful of beans or a cabbage or something, slap a few sprigs of summer savory on top, and call it a meal.

But of course, I’m going to make it harder and talk about lean months in the Willamette Valley, February through April, when locavore eating means munching on a raincloud with some rain sauce and a mud chaser.

IMG_0013

If you can remember those dark days, and you try to eat local as much as possible, what did you do?  I’m happy to include the stories of others.

So as you write, I will be out in my neighborhood gleaning, living off the fat of the local land…

IMG_0019

Nummy neighbor figs!  Desert King.  You know you want ’em.

2 thoughts on “talking local

  1. Lelo 4 August 2009 / 10:43 am

    Is this where I write that my little fig tree is 3 feet tall? Oh for the love of figs. Lucky you to have that neighbor!

    Like

  2. Eugenia 4 August 2009 / 11:21 am

    Mine is only about 4 feet tall! Same variety, so I have a grandiose vision it will be just like theirs some day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

