fresh local green beans meet their maker in a Thai stirfry

DSCF4965I’m workin’ on stuff, but I thought I’d just pop my head in here and sigh happily about the impromptu Thai stirfry I made with the season’s first local green beans.

I love, love, LOVE fresh, sunwarmed, slender green beans, their sweetness, their bouncy snap when you break off the little stems.

I had some leftover ground pork, so I browned it with some onion and new garlic.  Then, when it was crispy and rich brown, I added some Thai fish sauce and sugar, which carmelized beautifully, creating a sweet, salty, crusty, oniony pork confit.  Then I threw in big handfuls of green beans and cooked them for a few minutes.  Finally, I added a few leftover cashews and a handful of Thai basil.  I ate the whole mess over jasmine rice.  NOM.

In other news, have you registered yet for “Backyard Food Solutions,” this year’s Gardeners Mini College?  Tomorrow’s the deadline for registration.  More info if you click here and to the right.  Apparently, we’ve hit a record number of enrollees, but there’s still room for you!

5 thoughts on “fresh local green beans meet their maker in a Thai stirfry

  1. Robin 14 July 2009 / 4:09 pm

    Yum! What a great recipe. I’ll pick up some green beans at the Thursday farmer’s market and make it this week.

    Like

  2. KT 14 July 2009 / 9:33 pm

    yowza. That looks good!

    Like

  3. Eileen Otis 14 July 2009 / 9:35 pm

    Looks totally yummy, Jennifer. Now I’m hungry. Thanks.

    Like

  4. Robin Scott 18 July 2012 / 6:01 pm

    This has been a weekly go-to favorite recipe every summer since you posted it. Making it tonight!

    Like

  5. Eugenia 18 July 2012 / 6:08 pm

    Wow, thanks, Robin! I haven’t made this recipe in a long time and it used to be one of my favorites, as well. Time for a renaissance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

