we now interrupt this program for an important caneberry update

DSCF4761

Just wanted to let you know I’ve been updating the Oregon berries post regarding availability for U-pick raspberries.  I went to Riverbend Farm this morning, and spent an hour picking some of the most glorious berries I’ve ever seen.  I stuck with the Cascade Delights (recommended by others) and Tulameens, but there are several varieties, and boysenberries (my favorite) to come.  Then I went to Hentze’s to pick up some loganberries, and I heard they were u-picking Tulameens, too.

If you go early in the season (as in now), there are plenty of berries, so picking a bucket takes no time at all and is about half the price and more than half better quality of a pre-picked flat.  And yes, the pre-picked flats are awesome.

If you’ve never picked berries in Oregon, honestly, go.  I can’t recommend it highly enough.

While I’m on berries, I wanted to urge you to learn how to preserve these little wonders.  Jennifer Martin, a fellow Master Food Preserver and my U-pick berry advisor, is teaching an evening class on Tuesday, July 7, from 6-9 pm, on preserving berries.  My guess is that she’ll lead you through the basics of freezing and drying, as well as jams, jellies, pie fillings, and other delicious concoctions (I haven’t seen her schedule, so don’t quote me).  I won’t be able to make it, but my berry vinegars will be available for tasting.

More information on the class, and the phone number for registering, is listed to the right.  The Extension office is closed on Fridays, but if you leave a message, someone will call you back on Monday.

Happy Independence Day!  May all your celebrations be interdependent.

One thought on “we now interrupt this program for an important caneberry update

  1. Janet 4 July 2009 / 8:09 am

    Are there ollallieberries here? I dream of making my ex-husband some ollallieberry jelly like his late grandma used to make, which he misses terribly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

