rhubarb gin-n-tonics

DSCF4539

You know you want one.

Make a regular G&T, but use a light, zippy British gin and a smooth, premium tonic water, such as Fever Tree, which doesn’t have the overbearing flavors of the grocery store stuff.  Yeah, I like the grocery store stuff too, but hear me out on this one.

DSCF4542

Muddle a cork-sized, brilliant ruby piece of raw rhubarb with your gin.  Then add ice, tonic, and a splash or two of Fee’s rhubarb bitters.  I didn’t use a garnish but I’d suggest lemon or a grapefruit twist instead of lime.

Slightly bitter, slightly floral.  Light, lovely.  Perfect drink for an unseasonably hot spring day.

10 thoughts on “rhubarb gin-n-tonics

  1. Andrea 9 June 2009 / 12:20 pm

    where do you find good tonic water and bitters? can i snag both these things at a liquor store in eugene or do i have to go specialty shopping?

    i can’t stop thinking about strawberry goo in relation bourbon and all the strawberries in my garden… any idea how to make that?

    Like

  2. Eugenia 9 June 2009 / 1:15 pm

    I am not sure about the Fever Tree tonic. I’d try MOC first, then the liquor store in that same plaza on 29th. The bitters you can buy at Marché Provisions, and only there, in Eugene.

    Like

  3. Eugenia 9 June 2009 / 1:16 pm

    Oops, and regarding the strawberry goo — just coat strawberries with sugar, let them sit for an hour or so, then cook on the stove with a little water for about 10 minutes, mashing them up. Refrigerate, use.

    Like

  4. Giovanna 11 June 2009 / 6:08 am

    What a tempting idea! On my radar for my next g&t…

    Like

  5. Andrea 11 June 2009 / 10:10 am

    you know everything and for this i adore you. my amazing garden strawberries will soon be making me drunk :)

    Like

  6. Kim Carlson 12 June 2009 / 12:27 pm

    Giovanna knows I love a good g&t and sent me here; now this sorely tempts. Off to hunt down rhubarb bitters and premium tonic, so I’ll be ready for happy hour today. Thanks for the idea!

    (Happily, I’ve found I can drink gin — unlike wine — during grass pollan season; no histamines lurking there!)

    Like

  7. Giovanna 14 June 2009 / 8:24 pm

    Made these tonight…the Fever Tree tonic is wonderful with the rhubarb. It makes a crisp, slightly herbal tasting drink. And it’s pretty as well–mine came out quite pink!

    Like

  8. Eugenia 15 June 2009 / 3:36 am

    Giovanna: Wonderful! We have greenish Victoria rhubarb here in Eugene. I bet the pink is gorgeous!

    Like

  9. Anna 1 July 2009 / 6:09 pm

    What is a light zippy British gin. I finally received my tonic and bitters in the mail, so I want to make sure I have the correct gin. Is Bombay Sapphire ok? What about Kendricks? I’d like to serve this before the end of Wimbleton.

    Like

  10. Eugenia 2 July 2009 / 7:20 am

    Anna: I use Plymouth. Try what you have, though; it’s really a matter of taste, not a prescription. Have fun at your party!

    Like

Leave a Reply

