on the road: green pepper sauciness

I made it back to Buffalo, shuffling.  Hope that doesn’t mean a delivery of a racially stereotyped baby to my door.  A Catskills-style song and dance routine with elves would be nice, though.

But ANYWAY.

The long flight was made bearable by bearable Southern food in ATL.  With all my complaints about greens, I have to confess that I could sit around and eat Southern-style collards all day long, every day.  The ones I make at home, long simmered with ham hock and dressed with a knob of butter and vinegar, are never as good as the ones I’ve had made by bona fide Southerners.  The reason is clear: I don’t have even a hint of the South in me.  Even my ancestors are northerly.  I even felt helplessly trapped under the Mason-Dixon line when we lived in Baltimore; that’s how North I am.

So, eating at the undoubtedly mediocre buffet at Pascal’s in the Atlanta airport, I was in heaven to tuck into a huge pile of collards, the star of a plate containing mushy long-cooked green beans (yes, another vice of mine), and what I thought would be a smothered pork chop but what turned out to be a Salisbury steak.  It was the best TV dinner I had ever had.  I followed it with a praline chaser from what is most likely a famous Georgian candy shop, whose name I can’t recall but had something to do with Savannah.

Among all of these delicious delights, the star was a simple preparation of tabasco peppers steeped in vinegar, available as a condiment for the greens.  I was too stumped by the moniker “green pepper sauce” when I examined the clear liquid, so I didn’t catch the brand name.  My friends tell me there are many different possibilities; the internet agrees.  I know it wasn’t Texas Pete’s.  The bottles were small and glass, the size of a Tabasco bottle.  What, WHAT, was the name of that delicious sauce?

6 thoughts on “on the road: green pepper sauciness

  1. Eugenia 5 June 2009 / 7:57 am

    No, it’s not, but thanks anyway. It’s a clear vinegar with tabasco peppers in it — a much more simple preparation than Tabasco’s green sauce.

    Like

  2. mrasbach 5 June 2009 / 7:08 pm

    An ex of mine had a Southern grandma who kept him well-supplied with something similar, but hers was homemade. I think she just crammed a lot of peppers and a few supporting spices into a bottle and topped it up with vinegar.

    Like

  3. Eugenia 6 June 2009 / 5:33 am

    “a few supporting spices” = the elusive prize!

    Like

  4. Stephanie 23 July 2009 / 8:55 am

    Hi Eugenia,

    My family on my mother’s side are all
    South Georgia people (my parents live south of Savannah). I absolutely agree that noone makes greens like a Southerner. Fortunately my grandma has taught me all the secrets to cooking Southern, as I am a displaced GA Peach in New Hampshire. I am not positive, but the pepper sauce in question is probably Trappey’s Peppers in Vinegar. It is on the table of most self-respecting southern restaurants. We love it, love it, love it! It can be hard to find in northern stores, but you can buy it online…I prefer it by the case. Hope this helps!

    Like

Leave a Reply

