last week to apply for master food preserver course!

dscf2238

This is the year for learning how to grow and preserve your own food.  I’ve now been a Master Food Preserver for a year.  I’ve learned so much from the program I can’t even begin to describe it all.  A picture, as we know, is worth a thousand words:  check out these plum tomatoes from my garden, dried with my own herb mix and homemade celery salt, some frozen to add to stews and nibble, some plumped up in olive oil.  All of the techniques I learned from the MFP program, and the results  made winter much yummier than usual.

More importantly, however, the program allowed me to engage with a group of amazing, tough, sensitive, loving, no-nonsense women, and my volunteer work related to the MFP program changed the way I live my life.  Not only do I know how to improve the quality and safety of my pickles, preserves and other delectables, but also how our community works as a local food network and what we can do to change non-sustainable practices in our own lives. Oh yeah, and how to save money and raise money when times are tough.  Kinda need that right now.

Lane County residents (and surrounding areas) should consider taking the Master Food Preserver course through OSU Extension in Eugene.  This class will change your life. Applications are due Thursday, March 12.  Don’t hesitate!  The class will fill up.

More information is available on the OSU Extension –  Lane County website.  They say it better than I could:

Applications are now being accepted for the spring 2009 Family Food Education/Master Food Preserver Program (FFE/MFP) Training Class. Class begins Wednesday, April 8, 2009 with an orientation session and continues each Wednesday thru June 10th.

What is the Family Food Education/Master Food Preserver program?
Trained and certified volunteers assist the county Extension staff in providing up-to-date food safety/preservation information to the citizens in their county. FFE/MFPs work as “local food safety/preservation resources” in the community. They conduct workshops and demonstrations for groups and organizations and test pressure canner gauges at workshops and in outlying communities and staff a local and statewide food safety/preservation hotline.

Who can be a FFE/MFP Volunteer?
Anyone interested in food safety/preservation who is able to: (1) commit to a 40+ hour training program, (2) if selected into program, pay the $100 material/lab fee (limited scholarships available), and (3) volunteer at least 40-hours.

How do you become a FFE/MFP Volunteer?
Complete and return your application by Thursday, March 12th, 2009. Applicants will then complete an informal interview and receive confirmation of their application status by phone.

Mail to:
FFE/MFP Program
OSU Extension Service – Lane County
950 West 13th Avenue
Eugene, OR 97402

Deadline for application is Thursday, March 12th, 2009.

Application is in filloutable .pdf format.

For more information contact Susan Busler, OSU Extension Faculty at 541-505-1976 or by email at: susan.busler@oregonstate.edu.

3 thoughts on “last week to apply for master food preserver course!

  1. jennifer 6 March 2009 / 10:51 pm

    I’m so mad I can’t be part of this! The first two classes interfere with my class schedule. This sounds amazing.

    P.S. I found you through google reader’s suggestion tool – I’m a fellow Eugenian-thing. Nice work!

    Like

  2. Veronica Lamb 6 March 2009 / 11:16 pm

    Can I drop the application off at the Extension Office? It’s kind of last minute now, and I’m afraid to mail it.

    Like

  3. Eugenia 7 March 2009 / 9:41 am

    Jennifer: I’m sorry, too! I appreciate the comment. The MFP program does do classes throughout the year on various topics. If you keep an eye on my blog, I try to announce as many of them as I can. Perhaps we’ll see you there?

    Veronica: Yes, absolutely. The office is open most of the day on M-Th, except for an hour around lunchtime. Fridays we’re closed due to the budget shortfall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

