good gravy!

dscf3882Oh dear me, yum.  There’s an column in the works about small local meat farmers, but I had to share this one teeny picture of our Biancalana Pork Growers pork shoulder roast the other night.  Dave and Cody Biancalana are a father and son team (dad owns a popular Eugene garage) who started raising a pig as a hobby on their land in Springfield, and suddenly, they had a pork growing operation.

The pork is available at the tiny Saturday farmer’s market in the parking lot shared by Mazzi’s and Hideaway Bakery, and it’s delicious.  Their pepper bacon? I can’t even think about it because my drool will short out my keyboard.

Retrogrouch and I are working on all the cuts of meat they have, including a pancetta cured by Mazzi’s.  So far, so good.

But this is more about the gravy.  Graaaaaaaaaaavy.  I made the easiest, most delicious gravy the other day with pan drippings and sour cream, of all things.  Here it is:

Creamy Mustard Pork Gravy

Remove your roast and look at those beautiful drippings left behind.  Loosen the roast drippings by adding a cup or so of water.  Just plain water.  Put it back in the oven until it boils, and loosen up any stuck pieces with a wooden spoon.  Let it sit for a few minutes, then strain out the solids with a fine mesh strainer.  The liquids can go into a small saucepan.  Add a bit more liquid if it is really salty and a glug of verjus, vermouth, or white wine.  Bring to a boil.  Then, and this is the magic, take it off the heat.  Add a healthy glob (2 tablespoons?) of a stone-ground mustard.  Using a clean, large whisk, dip it into your sour cream container until you have about 1/3 cup.  Sure, you could use a spoon, but we’re being magic here.  Then whisk it into your drippings juice like mad until the white bits are incorporated and whole thing thickens.  Taste, and add a bit more sour cream if you like.

You can thank me later.  I accept gifts of bacon.

3 thoughts on “good gravy!

  1. TheBon 26 February 2009 / 10:51 pm

    Wow. That sounds like a gravy I might actually enjoy.

    Like

  2. Eugenia 27 February 2009 / 7:54 am

    I just realized: I forgot the mustard! It was a significant component of the gravy. I hope that doesn’t change things for you. :)

    Like

  3. Andrea 27 February 2009 / 2:32 pm

    lol. Dave is my mechanic and last time I was in there he gave me a card for the pork – was planning on picking up a bunch when I have my clutch redone soon. Glad it’s tasty!

    A

    Like

Leave a Reply

