garden progress and baking

dscf3749

I’m still struggling to proof something for my day job (the picture above is a visual pun on proofreading and bread dough proofing, get it? ha).  I apologize for posting so few recipes here lately; it isn’t for lack of desire, believe me.  I’ve been allowing myself little blobs of time here and there to do gardening and research for the food column, but I haven’t had the time to try out some delicious new ideas that are brewing.  But I can tell you that I got my peas planted this weekend (two varieties, the good ol’ Oregon Sugar Pod II and Waverex, a petit pois), and fertilized ’em well with a healthy dose of fish bone meal.  I also got suckered into buying a tayberry bare root and a couple of formidable chunks of rhubarb rhizome (Crimson Red and Victoria).  Poor me.  ;)

On the carb front, it was my great pleasure to spend a couple of hours at the Master Food Preservers bread baking class on Saturday.

dscf37731

The class seemed like great fun; students were busy making artisan loaves all day long at the wonderful commercial kitchen at Food for Lane County.  Recipes included  a free-form pain à l’ancienne (see picture below), whole wheat bread, ciabatta, a no-knead boule, and traditional Italian loaves. Each group had their own station, set up with a standing mixer and other tools to blend, knead, and form the loaves, and by the time I headed out, I saw many smiling faces with daubs of flour on their cheeks.

The instructor, Laura Hindrichs (above), is precise and nurturing, a wonderful combination of qualities in a teacher, and she can bake like it’s no one’s business.  There is one more class in the series, and I’m not sure if there is space, but it’s worth calling the MFP office if you’re interested.  The topic is flatbreads, and it will take place on Saturday, Feb. 28, from 9-2, cost $35.  Laura says it is her favorite of the series.

Again, thirty-five bucks.  You will never be able to get such excellent, hands-on instruction anywhere else, at any time, for this price.  I think it would be hard to find at even double the price, frankly.  This is one of the many wonderful programs sponsored by OSU Extension, and one of the reasons I’m such a strong supporter of keeping Extension alive.  Oh yeah, and a homemade lunch is included.  Seriously, Eugeniuses, if you are interested in cooking, check it out!  There are links to future MFP classes to the right.   I’ll be pimping the full Master Food Preserver course in a post in the near future…stay tuned.

dscf38011

5 thoughts on “garden progress and baking

  1. TheBon 23 February 2009 / 9:44 am

    Yum! I made some pane pugliese for the first time this weekend and it turned out to be amazing. My husband has requested I set up a starter for sourdough, so that’s my next task, bread-wise I think.

    Like

  2. Amy 23 February 2009 / 3:15 pm

    so bummed I missed the class this weekend. The bread looks fabulous. I could use the training after my absolute flop with english muffin bread last week.

    Like

  3. Eugenia 23 February 2009 / 8:22 pm

    TheBon: Sounds great!
    Amy: I wish I could have taken it, too, or at least stayed ’til the end. Sorry to hear about your English muffins.

    Like

  4. Bruce 25 February 2009 / 10:29 am

    Garden progress? I’m jealous. I might plant some seeds in containers in our basement, but if I want to plant outside, I better bring a snow shovel.

    Like

  5. Eugenia 25 February 2009 / 4:47 pm

    Bruce: I have dear friends who live in St. Paul. I understand.

    Like

Leave a Reply

