…and the winner of the great dry bean giveaway of 2009 is…

dscf3828dscf3837

Veronica!

Thanks for playing, everyone.  This was really fun, and I think I’ll do more giveaways in the future.  I’ll be in touch with the winner via email.  I also drew a runner-up, in case Veronica decides not to take the grand prize of two pounds of local Stalford Seed Farm legumes, but I have a feeling this won’t be an issue.  :)

The winning drawing entry suggested this idea for using pinto beans:

My mom cooked Mexican food when I was growing up, so she always had a pot of beans on. I cook beans the way she taught me. My favorite way to eat them is right out of the pot when they’ve just finished cooking. I spoon some of the beans in a bowl, add a generous amount of broth from the pot, then add chopped tomato, onion, a little chopped jalapeño, and a sprinkling of cheese on top. Simple yet so satisfying!

Yum!  I’d love to hear what else Veronica decides to make with the beans…perhaps a guest post?

3 thoughts on “…and the winner of the great dry bean giveaway of 2009 is…

  1. baltimoregon 23 February 2009 / 12:41 am

    Oh, sorry to miss the drawing! I’m loving the Stalford Seed Farm chickpeas and wheatberries I bought through the Bean & Grain Project. Hope to enter your next contest. I’m sure we know folks in common from Baltimore! Would love to meet you guys sometime. I also want to take that OSU extension food preservation class.

    Like

  2. Eugenia 23 February 2009 / 7:11 am

    Aren’t they delicious?

    I strongly recommend the MFP class. It is well worth it. I’m overdue on a post to pimp the class, thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  3. Veronica 1 March 2009 / 12:59 pm

    Thanks again for the lovely beans! I’ll definitely let you know what I do with them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

