beany, baby!

It’s bean week here at Culinaria Eugenius.  My next column for the Eugene Weekly hits the stands next Thursday (no space in Chow! this time).  As a teaser, I can whisper to you that you’ll find therein an article on West Coast beans, bean lust, and bean lovers, written by yours truly.

The recipe is a simple Mexican pot bean using beautiful red and white anasazi beans (pictured below).  You can often find anasazis in bulk at Sundance, but they’re out at the moment.  (I had nothing to do with it, I swear.)

The rest of my bean experiments, have been Italian recipes from Tuscany to Trieste, and I’m really having fun with myriad heirloom varieties of beans, all in beautiful colors, with a wide range of textures.

Stay tuned.

dscf3197

2 thoughts on “beany, baby!

  1. TheBon 27 January 2009 / 10:33 pm

    I wish I liked beans but their slightly grainy texture turns me off. I’ll have to make a point to grab a weekly though and see what your take on them is!

    Like

  2. Eugenia 28 January 2009 / 7:28 am

    I’m not sure if it will help, but new crop dried beans cook up creamier and faster than their supermarket counterparts. They’re a different beast altogether.

    Like

Leave a Reply

