happy 1st anniversary to culinaria eugenius!

dscf4872

I just realized today is the first anniversary for my blog.  Culinaria Eugenius is One!  It’s rather not fitting that the traditional first-year anniversary present is paper, but I can at least generate some non-paper writing for you, via links.  Here’s what I was writing about a year ago:

So basically, things haven’t changed much. I still complain.

I have changed, though.  I started this blog after spending the fall quarter back at my school in Orange County, CA, teaching a food politics writing class.  I passed the Harris cattle ranch south of LA on I-5, as I had many times in the past, but this time, knowing what I had just learned and taught, it disgusted me so much that it changed my meat-eating habits forever.

dscf0016

dscf00121

Since I’m so cheap, I had always looked for the lowest low-priced meat at the cheapest supermarket I could find.  I didn’t think much about what the conditions were for raising the cows and chickens.  After teaching a composition class with a food politics theme, and seeing those crowded, muddy cows at Harris, and knowing that Harris is actually one of the better outfits for that type of cattle ranching, I changed my mind.  The rest is history.

I’ve been working on a post that tracks some of the changes we’ve made over the year.  I’ll be posting that soon.

5 thoughts on “happy 1st anniversary to culinaria eugenius!

  1. PNWCheese 26 January 2009 / 8:18 am

    congratulations on a year of witty and wise observations and tasty creations… here’s to many more!

    Like

  2. kay 26 January 2009 / 8:24 am

    Happy Anniversary and best wishes for many more blogs to come.
    Your inspirational writing is not only a delight to read, but stimulates many people eat healthy (eg Eats, Shoots, and Weeds), drink creatively (eg.Riesling Confetti Jelly) and be merry everyday no matter what comes up (eg. Left my Car in SF)!
    Thank you so much!!

    Like

  3. Robin 26 January 2009 / 9:51 am

    Congratulations! We are so enjoying your blog.

    Like

  4. Eugenia 27 January 2009 / 7:29 am

    Thanks, ladies! I appreciate the warm thoughts.

    Like

  5. Where'stheceleriac 28 January 2009 / 11:54 am

    Here’s to many happy returns for the web’s finest food, (fresh, canned, jammed and all), chronicler! Congratulations, my dear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

