dscf0030

Can I tell you how excited I am about my upcoming trip to San Francisco?  Not for my profession’s notorious annual conference, where anxious grad students and exhausted professors wrench themselves from their families directly after Christmas to face off in stressful interviews and panels, but for the happy accident of being one of those anxious interviewees in a city I love with many people I love.  It will be a busy week full of networking, socializing, rendez-vousing, reminiscing, dreaming, and real, honest-to-goodness holiday cheer.

In doing my serious research, I have scoped out the area for bars, restaurants, and cafés within walking distance.  I used to work in the area where the conference is being held, and I can’t wait to see if some of the places I used to frequent for lunch are still there. I have big plans after the conference, too, including an important plan to buy gorgeous, exotic, seasonal citrus to make my first batch of low-sugar marmalade upon my return.

As you might imagine, I’m a little nervous about the drive over the passes in Southern Oregon.  The weather is not being cooperative.  I was really torn up about whether to fly or drive, but my gallons of pickles and jams kinda made the decision for me.  I’ve got chains and all-wheel drive, still, I figger if I get stranded I’ll have enough to eat.  They’ll find me preserved with salt and sugar in perfect condition by the side of the road.

Please pray to your weather gods for me, and if I do make it, I’d appreciate your good thoughts for the interviews.

