zolotoy petushok closed

This makes me very grumpy.  My local source for Eastern European goodies, cheese, and sausage has closed.  Zolotoy Petushok, a Russian deli out in the hinterlands of W. 11th (in the mini-mall next to the KFC), was a sweet, friendly, unpretentious little place that sold jams, spices, teas, and tchotchkes along with hot meals: little mushroom dumplings, stuffed cabbage, or a steaming bowl of fish goulash.  This little deli, like the dearly departed Pomegranates Middle Eastern Market, was alone in its kind.  I bought my farmer’s cheese there.  I remember reading somewhere that the store had changed owners recently; I guess they quickly realized it wasn’t a profitable location.

2 thoughts on “zolotoy petushok closed

  1. Veronica 6 November 2008 / 10:46 pm

    Oh, that’s too bad. I went there a few times, and it wasn’t in the best location–not very visible. I remember I couldn’t even find it the first time I went looking for it. I also bought some farmer’s cheese and dumplings. They had some cool stuff–it’s a shame.

    Like

  2. Yurii 13 October 2014 / 8:18 pm

    I miss the restaurant A LOT! I knew the owners, and they were very friendly and always welcoming, they knew the way I liked my Pelmeni served, and always made it special that way. My only other source for Pelmeni and Duches pear juice soda was up in Portland at Russia House on Foster Rd., but alas, they have closed as well, they had an extensive selection of music from Russia, as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

