a taste of the harvest event at midtown bistro!

I’d like to pimp the latest fundraising event for the Lane County Extension Master Food Preservers, a silent auction and tasting buffet at Midtown Bistro/Bel Ami a week from today, Sunday, November 9, from 4-7 p.m.

You will eat your fill of local specialties prepared with seasonal fruits and vegetables, and have the opportunity to taste scrumptious sweet and savory canned goods, homemade bread, smoked and pickled fish and meats, sauerkraut, and everything that can be made from home-preserved products.  My contribution will be at the vinegar booth: samples of my vinegars flavored with blackberry/thyme, tayberry, raspberry/star anise/Szechuan peppercorn, and my favorite, “Thai Flower,” a floral concoction of Thai purple basil, lemongrass, kaffir lime leaf and peppercorn.

The silent auction is going to be fantastic, with gift certificates from local businesses, gift baskets, and other local products.

I’ll be there, staffing the sales table, where we will be offering over 200 jars of jam (sez my sources), pickles, pie fillings, relishes, sauces and other goodies for sale.  This is, to my knowledge, the only opportunity in the city for purchasing such a huge range of home-canned products prepared by experienced preservers, so I encourage you all to attend and pick up some locally and personally made gifts for the holidays!

My own donation for the sale was several jars of my Willamette Valley Dark Fruit Jam with Meadowfoam Honey, a low-sugar spread made from local blackberries and blueberries, sweetened with 100% honey.  Other than a tiny bit of pectin, this product is made completely of local products.  I peeked in the box at the MFP office and saw some other offerings:  raspberry jam, apple pie filling, plum sauce, chowchow, and smoked salmon.

We’ll also be sampling and selling subscriptions for our holiday cookie sale:  fancy and delicious homemade cookies by the dozen to save you time this year for hostess gifts and other holiday baking needs. The lavender shortbread is particularly lovely, but I wouldn’t say no to the grappa biscotti or the chocolate-dipped macaroons, either.

%+~++~+~+   And…I’m thrilled to announce…   +~++~+~+%

signing up interested parties for the rescheduled Gifts from the Kitchen class!  YAY!  I’ll be offering a one-day version of the class with my teaching partner in crime.  More information to come soon, but I wanted to let you know it’s on for December 13, and the class will be an all-day workshop held at the Extension building next to the Fairgrounds.

Tickets are $15 a person/$25 a couple, and are available at Newman’s Fish Market, Long’s Meat Market, and other places that someone will be glad to tell you if you call the MFP hotline listed to the right of this post!  :)

One thought on “a taste of the harvest event at midtown bistro!

  1. Veronica 3 November 2008 / 12:20 pm

    Yes! Thank you! I’m thrilled at the news! I will definitely be signing up for this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

