a sad day for toilet paper jelly

I’m exceedingly sad to announce that we have to cancel the Gifts from the Kitchen class.  We just made the decision, based on the number of pre-registrations.  We had set 20 as the minimum, and we didn’t clear it.  Since it is a labor- and materials-intensive three-day class, fully staffed by volunteers, we thought it better to deploy our resources in other fundraising events and workshops. It’s my understanding that LCC will be contacting those of you who have signed up.

Needless to say, I’m really disappointed I don’t get to meet the people who read my blog who had signed up for the class, and hope we’ll have more opportunities to cook together soon.  I was looking forward to sharing our MFP secrets about clarifying jelly with toilet paper (pictured above), how to make great soup from a plastic cup, and dried apple gift tags for fun and profit.

3 thoughts on “a sad day for toilet paper jelly

  1. Veronica 6 October 2008 / 7:57 pm

    Well, I guess I needn’t tell you that I’m very disappointed and sad about this! I was so looking forward to it. :-C Oh, well. I guess I’ll have to figure it out on my own. I’m sorry that you are having such difficulty raising funds for the program. I guess we’re all going through some financially difficult times, but hopefully things will get better soon. :-)

    Like

  2. Eugenia 6 October 2008 / 10:51 pm

    Yep, times are tough! But we’re over the halfway mark in just a couple of months, and I have great hopes we’ll succeed!

    Sure share your disappointment, though. We’ll try again with the class at another time, I’ve no doubt about it.

    Plus, now I can post some of the ideas I’ve been pondering!

    Like

  3. Amy 8 October 2008 / 9:14 pm

    Bummer! I would have signed up if I was going to be around.

    I recently found your blog and was so excited to find a Eugene-based blog focused on food preservation. It is fantastic! Also – I had never heard of the Culinaria books until reading your blog. They are phenomenal – thanks for the great information.

    Like

Leave a Reply

