mfp news and events

Just a quick note to announce some great news: the Master Food Preserver program is being officially extended, at least through October 23, to keep the hotline up and running through the harvest.

We’ll be selling cookies at the Lane County Master Gardeners Bulb Sale and demonstrating apple preservation at Detering’s Orchard Apple Days, both on October 6, if you want to come on by!

I dried close to a gazillion Prime Red apples for Apple Days, and am baking cookies and working a shift at the Bulb Sale.  I’ve been doing so much computer work, I’m excited to be out and about and thinking about fall gardening.

Also, one more reminder for the Gifts from the Kitchen class, which starts next Wednesday, October 8.  Click the link to the right for more information!

2 thoughts on “mfp news and events

  1. Veronica 1 October 2008 / 10:12 pm

    I’m glad to hear that the program has been extended and am really looking forward to the Gifts from the Kitchen class. I just dried my first batch of apples using my new food dehydrator and was wondering how you personally do it. Do you peel them or not? Do you dip them in an antioxidant solution? What do you recommend? I peeled mine but was wondering if it’s really necessary.

    Like

  2. Eugenia 2 October 2008 / 5:50 am

    I’m looking forward to it, too, thanks!

    I tried peel on and peel off. I like the pretty strip of peel, personally, but it does wrinkle up and make the apples harder to dry completely. But peeling is a huge pain. I borrowed a crank peeler from the MFP office, but I’m pretty helpless with gadgets, so I ended up doing them all by hand. Others will be more successful, I’m sure.

    And the dip — this was a tip from someone who has done apples for a long time — 2 T. salt per half-gallon of water. Let the apple slices sit in there for a minute or two before draining.

    Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

