more fun with dehydration!

Why yes, that would be a lacy bit of tomato chile leather atop a slice of Tillamook cheddar, thank you for asking.  My recipe?  Dump a jar of homemade salsa on a fruit leather drying sheet, dehydrate until leathery.  You can also dehydrate tomato sauce (no meat, please) for a different taste.  I like eating little slices with bread, too.  It’s like a sundried tomato with a kick.

And speaking of sundried tomatoes, I have about a gazillion of them in different forms, including a “reject bag” of ones that were overdried, dark, slightly smoky, a tad bitter.  I added a handful of the rejects to my pot roast yesterday, and yum!  The flavor was perfect, and the dried tomatoes held their shape better than the handful of fresh plum tomatoes I threw in.

I also dried my Hungarian paprika peppers in the dehydrator this year.  Last year, I relied on the good ol’ fashioned sun, but I was worried about the cool weather we’ve been having.  It wasn’t nearly as funny as line-drying the peppers and making jokes about being a kinky gardener, but it got the job done.  I also dried some ripe-red hot banana peppers, which I’ll add to the mix when I grind them all down for paprika.

6 thoughts on “more fun with dehydration!

  1. keith johnson 2 October 2008 / 4:49 pm

    Very interesting. I am very interested in drying food and looking to learn.
    Thanks for this information.
    Keith

    Like

  2. glutenfreeforgood 5 October 2008 / 5:11 am

    Hi again — I’ve just been cruising your blog and having the best time! Love all the preserving tips, clever prose, and fun photos!
    Melissa

    Like

  3. keith johnson 5 October 2008 / 3:53 pm

    Our neighbor called and asked if we were interested in some fall raspberries. The Rodericks always have great raspberries but the strange weather in the spring meant no berries. So hearing that the fall berries are really nice, I said sure, we want some.

    I ended up with four pints. Two pints were dedicated to my breakfast and general snacking. The other two pints went into my new dehydrator. They dried to beautiful berries – you would not know they were dried unless you touch them.

    So, now I have these beautiful berries, what do I do them now??? I appreciate any thoughts.

    Like

  4. Eugenia 5 October 2008 / 4:37 pm

    Keith, I have a bag of dried raspberries in my refrigerator from early summer. They actually don’t recommend drying them! The problem is that they really do turn out seedy, and not very sweet (although maybe the fall raspberries are sweeter…) I think they’re beautiful, though, and I like using them as “croutons” in salads with a sweetish dressing, or to toss them in oatmeal and cold cereal in the morning for a little visual interest.

    Melissa, thanks! :)

    Like

  5. Keith Johnson 5 October 2008 / 5:33 pm

    I guess I got carried away drying things. The fall berries are pretty but have a more delicate flavor than the early summer berries. It was intesting to me that as the berries dried in the dehydrator, the flavor became more intense. After a hour or so in the dryer the berry’s flavor was so strong it makes you pucker up. That, of course, does not continue.
    I have seen a reference to using raspberry powder but don’t know anything about it. Thanks for the book suggestion.
    Keith

    Like

  6. Eugenia 6 October 2008 / 10:56 pm

    Oh, thanks, Keith, and you’re welcome! I did plan to try to experiment making raspberry sugar with raspberry powder, and completely forgot. It would be like my vegetable salts: fruit sugars! If you do try the powder, please let me know what you find.

    Like

Leave a Reply

