oregon or pnw food gifts?

As I mentioned earlier, I’m co-teaching a Gifts from the Kitchen class for the MFPs, in conjunction with Lane Community College, this October.  As we’re preparing our materials for great gift baskets for the holidays, I thought I’d ask for more ideas.

What kinds of Oregon food gifts do you bring to people out of state?  What food represents the Willamette Valley, Oregon, or the PNW to you?  Is it jam, fruit, candy, vegetables?  Do you bake any special Oregon treats at the holidays?  Do you have any particular food gifts you give from local Eugene companies?  I’d love to hear from as many people as possible, so I can present a comprehensive list.  Thanks and have a great Labor Day weekend: don’t work too hard!

7 thoughts on “oregon or pnw food gifts?

  1. TheBon 29 August 2008 / 5:52 pm

    The Benedictine Sisters of the Mt. Angel Abbey make Monastery Mustard, which I find fascinating and people have liked to receive it. I tend to send things with marionberries, because my family can’t get them easily back east. Mostly I make things that ship easily, which means more standard things like cranberry-orange bread [that’s tradition from growing up in New England] and shortbread. Things that last, can be frozen and ship well. This year I’m planning to make these thumbprint cookies with my homemade jams as well, for local consumption. ;)

    Like

  2. Ann 30 August 2008 / 9:24 am

    My sweetie’s family is in New England, and marionberries are unheard of out there. So we sent them home with marionberry jam. And didn’t Bridgeport just put out a marionberry beer?

    Pinot noir is a natural, of course. The one that touched my heart/palate the most in my 3 years in Oregon was Winter’s Hill. There are so many hand-crafted, family-made wines–I think that’s a fab gift. The semi-sparkling muscats are also really neat.

    The fudge from the monks out near Amity stands out, but mostly because it’s such a lovely drive for such an unusual reward.

    The artisan cheese you can get at the Portland Farmer’s Market also occur to me. Particularly the people who make the Camembert type cheese.

    Like

  3. Eugenia 31 August 2008 / 6:39 am

    Thanks, ladies! I appreciate the detailed responses. *taking notes*

    Like

  4. Janet 1 September 2008 / 9:09 am

    I’m not even an OR resident (yet), but I’ve been giving Rogue Creamery gift baskets for years.

    Like

  5. Ceri 2 September 2008 / 3:33 pm

    Dried pears, plums or apples (from my trees). Jellies or Jams made from local fruit. Hazelnuts or walnuts. Euphoria chocolate mint buttons (needed for a family cookie recipe.

    Like

  6. domo 19 January 2009 / 10:34 pm

    cool

    Like

Leave a Reply

