so hot

…and I’m not at all feeling sweet.  So what’s a little-bit-country, little-bit-harajuku girl to do?  Why, drink mugicha, of course!  Mugicha is roasted barley tea, consumed cold ‘n’ roasty in the hot Japanese summers.  All over Japan, from Tokyo 10-foot-square studios to Fukuoka Zen temples, when the cicadas drone their death song, the people drink ice-cold mugicha in sweaty glasses.  Since it’s just barley, there’s no problem with over-caffeination, and since there’s no sugar, you don’t even have to worry about cavities.  I suppose it might even be good for you. And I suppose you can roast your own barley and it would taste even better, but with heat like this, who wants to stand over a hot stove?

So I cheat, and buy a big bag of “suntea”-type packages of mugicha at Sunrise Market on 29th, and it couldn’t be easier to pop a package into a cold gallon of water and wait until the tea turns golden brown.  I usually keep a pitcher of mugicha in my refrigerator when it’s as hot as it is here in Eugene this week.  And for once in my life, I don’t envy my cats, who are doomed in their little furry bodies to drink only dull water.

4 thoughts on “so hot

  1. Liz 10 July 2008 / 1:37 pm

    sounds delicious, and now I’m going to have to hunt some down to try it!

    Like

  2. Eugenia 10 July 2008 / 1:50 pm

    Check out any well-stocked Asian market, especially with Japanese or Korean owners! Koreans also drink it, but I don’t know the name in Korean.

    Like

  3. Michelle 11 July 2008 / 5:05 pm

    Hi Eugenia! We’ve just discovered barley tea here from our Japanese neighbor and I love it so I’m very happy to see it on your blog and hear a little more about it. Now I know the Japanese name of it so that I can seek it out here… Hope you’re doing well!

    Like

  4. Eugenia 13 July 2008 / 2:31 pm

    Hiya Michelle! I’m so glad to see you’re discovering cool new things in Hawaii; such a huge change…

    Like

Leave a Reply

