seascape strawberry fields forever

Always, no, sometimes think it’s me,
But, you know, I know when it’s a dream.
I think, er, no, I mean, er, yes, but it’s all wrong;
That is, I think I disagree..

Today was an alarming day at the Saturday Market. Hundreds of Eugeniuses wandering around blissfully, aimlessly, with sticky smiles and red hands. Everyone — everyone! — was holding at least a pint of the best strawberries in the world: Willamette Valley Seascapes. There was an odd quiet in the crowd, for we were all smitten and dazed and, dare I say it, high. Although some farms have had Seascapes out for a couple of weeks now, this was the first, wonderful week when the berries are gorgeously sunkissedly beautifully pumped full of sweet sunshine. And partook we did, a love fest in honor of the Bacchante-laureate weekend, the start of summer, and finally some normal June weather.

Vive strawberries! Vive June! Vive us!

2 thoughts on “seascape strawberry fields forever

  1. Pat Kight 14 June 2008 / 7:09 pm

    Alas, alack: There were no strawberries at the Albany market this morning; local growers lost a lot to the recent rain. Now that the sun’s out again, they’re promising lots and lots for next Saturday, though – and rumor one grower has Seascapes at a farmstand out on Highway 34 en route to Lebanon, so if I can’t wait …

    I pity the poor folks who don’t live in strawberry-growing country, stuck with those massive, tasteless California supermarket mutants…

    Like

  2. Eugenia 14 June 2008 / 8:12 pm

    I didn’t want to make folks *too* jealous today, but I also ate my first Seascape from my own little patch. If I thought the ones at the market were good, the sun-warmed, little, mis-shapen and probably neglected strawberry literally made my eyes roll back in my head with ecstacy.

    Here’s hoping you get yours, and soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

