dirt

I had three cubic yards of dirt delivered on Monday, and I’ve been digging my way out of the pile ever since. I made faux raised beds, since we can’t afford the time or money for nice raised beds this year, and fortified all the beds. I enlarged the strawberry patch, put in a zucchini hill, planted a fig tree, and got in my starts.

Don’t you think it’s time for a massive heat wave?

We’ll be having one for the next few days. I’ll try to protect the little transplants as well as I can. Someone told me you can use mini laundry baskets they have at the dollar store, or cardboard boxes. Plenty of cool water is a must, too. Wish me luck.

3 thoughts on “dirt

  1. Sherri 15 May 2008 / 6:48 am

    I wanna come to your house and play in the dirt :)

    Like

  2. Wyrd 15 May 2008 / 7:04 pm

    I’m having the same difficulties on the coast. A pile of dirt, tons of seedlings, and a greenhouse that just turned baking hot.

    Like

  3. Janet 15 May 2008 / 11:13 pm

    Here too, or so my spouse the gardener tells me. Plus, EBMUD just declared mandatory water rationing here :(

    Like

Leave a Reply

