Tags

, , ,

Finally, beautiful weather.  I celebrated Earth Day with the fuchsia tones of my blooming azaleas, beets as long as my arm, and jeweled sushi.  We weeded the garden and planted more seed, including poppies, carrots, leaf celery, dill, and borage.

I took advantage of the beet stems and greens, something I highly suggest.  Made beet stem pickles using my pickled chard stem recipe, but the beet stems are stringy, so it’s best to chop them up.  I was thankful I thought to experiment with a chopped quick pickle relish using the leftover vinegar and bits of stems, spring onion, carrot, dill flowers, and fennel seed.  Made a terrific addition to bean tacos, a barley salad, and salmon.

The mushrooms, beets, and bright pink radishes all came from the Lane County Farmers Market on Saturday.  The sushi was yet another delicious meal from Kamitori.  Chef Masa worked with the Cinema Pacific staff to host a dinner reception after Jiro Dreams of Sushi, a documentary about a 3-Michelin-star sushi restaurant’s 85-year-old chef in Tokyo.  If you haven’t been to Kamitori, on Willamette and 11th, you really should go and experience Japanese sushi.  It’s unique in Eugene.  See my review in the Register-Guard by following the links here.

