Tags

, , , ,

You know you want it, baby.

My horseradish, confined to its pot above, is beginning to stir.  I only had to dig tubers under stone pavers once to learn that lesson.

After a chain of emails, I discovered that the three gooseberry plants I bought were ‘Poorman,’ and I’m so happy that’s the case.  A good plant and a good berry.  Next year I’ll be asking Retrogrouch if he’d like some gooseberry [,] fool.

I’m a new and zealous supporter of Ribes, the plant genus of discrimination.  The federal government outlawed gooseberries and currants in the early 20th century because they helped spread white pine blister rust, so the taste of these native fruits was largely scrubbed from the American palate.  We need to change that.  Though the federal ban was lifted in 1966, not until 2003 was growing made legal again in states like New York.  I planted two red currants last year and had a handful of berries.  This year should be much better.  May also get some black ones in there this year yet.

Artichokes and two of the three rhubarb are up and unfolding their big leaves.  No sign of the asparagus yet, though. The third rhubarb is new.  Maybe it’s still getting acclimated.

Lovage (above) is already knee-high; tarragon has returned like the hope of sun.  Fennel and wormwood going like gangbusters.  Some fennelseed found its way into the rows.  Not quite sure how/who, since it isn’t the fennel vulgare that dropped its seeds but rather bronze fennel and Italian bulb fennel.  But who is compaining?  I’ll move it to the front in a difficult place as an ornamental.

Blackcaps, raspberries, and tayberry canes are leafing out.  I expect a good crop this year.  I added three new ‘Meeker’ canes, which have been slow to take off.

I only have three or four ‘Seascape’ strawberries left, but all of the 2-3 dozen ‘Benton’ starts took, so after plucking off the blossoms this year, I’ll have a better crop next summer.

Two varieties of arugula are growing well, as is the ‘wild’ kale.

Potatoes and onions are doing their thing, too.  Herbs are herbing.

I’m excited about the front bed expansion.  It’s the hottest part of the yard, so converting the lawn over to garden was long overdue. I’m trying to decide whether to put in raised beds, or just let it become my squash/pumpkin patch.  Luckily, there’s time to decide.

What are you growing?

