For those of you who missed it this week, check out my latest Eugene Weekly Chow! article on Oregon strawberries.  I’m still in Prague, but my husband instant-messaged me from Eugene the other day telling me that he had to make a strawberry fruit salad for a party.  So he went out and bought a flat of strawberries.  Now, any canning enthuiast knows that a flat makes a double batch of jam, or a big bag full of frozen berries, or a good few cups of dried ones.  But he doesn’t know how to do any of these things, so I encouraged him to clean and hull the berries, slice them in half, pour a bit of sugar on them, and let them sit for a couple of hours in the refrigerator.  Just before serving, toss in a bit of Grand Marnier and chopped mint.   Serve with whipped cream.

And MORE rain?  What’s up with that?

