Tags

The past few mornings, we’ve awakened to the fog.  I love this time of year so much.  My Norway maple dons its gold costume and the air is damp and ready for rain.

I hope the good weather holds through the Mt. Pisgah Mushroom Festival, an intimate little celebration of fungi at the Mt. Pisgah Arboretum that we enjoy each year.  Someone brings a cider press and makes hot cider from the freshly smushed apples, and a local restaurant serves up steaming mushroom soup (and other warming delicacies), so you can walk around with something fragrant and toasty in your hands as you look at the mind-boggling array of mushrooms plucked in our area.  Retrogrouch’s favorite table is the DANGER POISON DON’T EAT THIS OR YOU’LL DIE TABLE!!!!!  I’m more of a romantic.  It’s all about the Biggest Mushroom in Oregon display for me.

